When people think you’re dying

My relief keeps saying my client is fading- as in dying.
Because she’s napping more and she doesn’t eat much.
I know eventually the end will come. She will be 102 in 12 days after all. It’s bound to happen. So I’m not ignoring the possibility.
But people have been saying she is dying for the last 5 years I’ve been with her.
I laid it out for her yesterday.
“So (relief) thinks you are dying. Are you giving up?”
Her, shocked expression on her face: “Why would she think that?”
Me: “Because you are sleeping a lot.”
Her: “I’m bored. My eyes hurt. And my blanket is nice and toasty. Of course I’m going to nap more! Next problem?”
Me: “She thinks you’re giving up because you aren’t eating much.”
Her: “I don’t like eating! I never have! That’s nothing new. Seriously? I’m fine.”
Me: “Well, just don’t nap so hard that you don’t wake up quickly. She might have you buried before you realize it.”
Her: “I may not live forever, but I’m not gone yet.”
Me: “Let’s keep it that way for a little longer. I happen to like your cantankerous self, but I also need to finish paying off my truck first.”
Her: “Ahh, so we get to the root of the problem.”
Me: “Nah, just being honest!”
Her: “You’re a comedian, kid.”
Me: “I do try.”
#adventuresincaregiving
#conversationswithmyclient
#reliefalwayshasherdying
#tooonerytodie

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑